Home » Sanwo-Olu denies rift with Lagos Assembly, swears in cabinet members

Sanwo-Olu denies rift with Lagos Assembly, swears in cabinet members

by Daudu John


Sanwo-Olu denies rift with Lagos Assembly, swears in cabinet members


The Governor of Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, on Wednesday, dismissed any notion of animosity between the executive arm and the state House of Assembly.


Sanwo-Olu, during the swearing-in of 37 new commissioners and special advisers in Ikeja, noted that there were some concerns surrounding the initial rejection of some nominees by the lawmakers.


“Let me go further to say that I am not unaware of the feelings in some quarters that the initial rejection of some nominees by the Lagos State House of Assembly, necessitating the submission of a revised list of nominees, signified a call to arms between the Executive and the Legislature. I reject such feelings in totality.


“Were the Executive designed to be omnipotent and omniscient, the very important oversight function of the Legislature will be needless.”


The governor, however, applauded the state House of Assembly for their commendable performance during the four-week-long nominee screening process.


He also urged the newly appointed cabinet members to consistently strive for excellence in their work and actively involve the public in their endeavors.


“To the new members of the Executive Council, this spirit of cooperation and collaboration with the Lagos State House of Assembly is one that you must continue to build on. The people of Lagos State demand and expect the best.


“Achieving this requires every one of you to reach out, to engage and to collaborate. It requires you to have the humility to listen and to learn; the humility to consult widely and to consider well-meaning advice; and the humility to recognise that we all win or lose together. I demand and expect no less from you all.


“The task of this new Cabinet is clear. It is to build on the successes of our Administration’s first 4 years in office. It is to take our people closer and closer to our dream of a Greater Lagos. As fate will have it, we are also marking the First 100 Days of our Administration’s Second Term in Office. So today is as good a time as any to review the past, and to set our sights on the glorious future ahead of us,” he stated.


The venue of the ceremony was filled to the brim with Speaker of the House, Mudashiru Obasa; Chief Judge of Lagos State, Kazeem Alogba; Secretary to State Government, Abimbola Salu-Hundeyin; Head of Service, Hakeem Muri-Okunola, present.


Family members, friends, traditional rulers, top government functionaries, members of the Governance Advisory Council led by the Chairman, All Progressives Congress chieftains; former Senators, led by Senator representing Lagos West and former Deputy Governor in the state, Idiat Adebule; chairmen of local governments, ex-commissioners, religious leaders, bodies of permanent secretaries, among others, were also present.


Also in attendance was the Minister for Solid Minerals and former Lagos Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Dele Alake.


The portfolios of Commissioners, Special Advisers and ministries are:


1.Lawal Pedro — Commissioner for Justice and Attorney-General


2. Prof Akin Abayomi — Commissioner for Health


3. Wahab Adetokunbo — Commissioner for Environment


4.Moruf Akinderu-Fatai — Commissioner for Housing


5.Gbenga Omotoso — Commissioner for Information and Strategy


6. Olarenwaju Ibrahim — Commissioner for Home Affairs and Culture


7. Bolaji Cecillia-Dada — Commissioner for Women Affairs


8 . Abisola Olusanya — Commissioner for Agriculture


9. Abayomi Oluyomi — Commissioner for Finance


10. Ayantayo Waheed — Commissioner for Pensions


11.Olugbenga Oyerinde — Commissioner Special Duties


12. Adetoke Benson-Awoyinka — Commissioner for Tourism


13. Ogunlende Mobolaji — Commissioner for Youths and Social Development


14. Yakub Ekundayo-Alebiosu — Commissioner for Waterfront


15. George Mosopefoluwa — Commissioner for Economic Planning and Budget


16. Olatunbosn Alake —Commissioner for Innovation and Tech


17. Fashola Omotola — SA Agric


18. Sola Giwa — SA Transportation


19. Engr. Abiola Olowu — Commissioner for Commerce and investments


20. Bolaji Robert — Commissioner Local Government Affairs


21. Engr. Olayinka Lukman — SA Works Office of Deputy Governor


22. Dr. Olukoya Oreoluwa Finnih — SA Health


23. Dr. Iyabo Oyeyemi — SA internal Audit


24.Olajide Babatunde — SA GIS and Urban Planning


25.Jamiu Ali-Balogun — Commissioner for Basic Education


26.Rotimi Akodu — SA Environment


27. Opeyemi Ogungbo — SA Taxation and Revenue


28.Olayiwola Aregbe — SA Tourism


29. Mrs. Bola Olumegbon — SA Central Business District


30. Barrister Olawunmi Bakare — SA Housing


31.Seun Osiyemi — Commissioner for Transportation


32. Folashade Bada — Commissioner for Industry and Investments


33. Dr. Oluyinka Olumide — Commissioner, Physical Planning and Urban Development


34. Tajudeen Afolabi — SA Political, Legislative and Civic Engagement


36.Akinyemi Ajigbotafe — Commissioner for Wealth Creation


37.Dr. Lanre Agbaje — SA Rural Devt and Chieftaincy Affairs


38.Tolani Sule-Akibu — Commissioner For Tertiary Education


Related Posts

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?
Update Required Flash plugin