Home » How states shared N9.3tn in three years

How states shared N9.3tn in three years

by Daudu John

How states shared N9.3tn in three years

The 36 states in Nigeria shared a total of about N9.3tn as federal allocation between June 2019 and December 2022, a period of 43 months, which formed the bulk of the second tenure of President Muhammadu Buhari.

Punch reports that Data sourced from 43 monthly reports of the Federation Accounts Allocation Committee (FAAC) as released by the National Bureau of Statistics (NBS) indicated that Delta State got the highest allocation during the period under review, while Akwa Ibom and Rivers states followed.

The NBS had yet to upload the FAAC reports for the months of January, February and March 2023, when checked on Sunday by one of our correspondents.

For the 43 months period that was reviewed by our correspondents, it was observed that Delta State got the lion share of about N843.8bn, Akwa Ibom received about N643.2bn, while Rivers got about N642bn.

Further findings showed that Sokoto State got the least allocation during the three years and seven months period, as it received N119.1bn.

It was followed by Osun State, which got the second least allocation of N126.4bn during the review period, while the state that got the third lowest allocation was Cross River, with N141.71bn.

Our findings further showed that other states, including Abia, Adamawa, Anambra, Bauchi and Bayelsa received about N188.75bn, N221.86bn, N204.54bn, N200.5bn and N543.6bn, respectively.

Benue, Borno, Ebonyi, Edo, Ekiti, Enugu and Gombe received N192bn, N233.9bn, N171.3bn, N247.5bn, N148.4bn, N196.3bn and N156.6bn, respectively.

For Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara and Lagos states, their various FAAC allocations during the period under review were N215.96bn, N223.7bn, N242.5bn, N308.4bn, N233.7bn, N204.3bn, N193.3bn, N154.1bn and N457.4bn respectively.

The remaining states of Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Ondo, Oyo, Plateau, Taraba, Yobe and Zamfara, received allocations of N179.5bn, N189bn, N147.8bn, N202.8bn, N225bn, N149.7bn, N267.9bn, N184.3bn and N167.3bn respectively.

It was observed that the states shared about N1.47tn from June to December 2019, while in 2020 they shared a total of about N2.29tn.

In 2021, the 26 states of the federation, excluding the Federal Capital Territory, shared about N2.35tn, while in 2022 the FAAC disbursed about N3.16tn to the states.

This brings the total allocation that was shared by the states during the 43-month period to N3.27tn.

Related Posts

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?
Update Required Flash plugin